Facebook Pixel for Advertising Data

Online Teaching Award

In its fifth year the Mississippi State Online Teaching award acknowledges and rewards an MSU online instructor who employs best practices to engage, inspire and support students in an online environment. The nominee shall be a faculty member, instructor, or lecturer of a Campus 5 course taught in the current academic year. The winner receives a $500 award along with registration to attend an online education-related conference similar to OLC, UPCEA or USDLA. Nominations are now open for the 2023 award.

Nominations are due by March 8th, 2023 at 5:00pm

Submit the following requirements to idhelp@online.msstate.edu as a Word or PDF file:

  • Nomination Form
  • Curriculum vitae
  • One letter of support from a student
  • One letter of support from an administrator and/or colleague
  • A written summary of personal online teaching philosophy/pedagogy
  • Permission to review course listed on the nomination form. If nominating an instructor or colleague, a written letter of permission should be included in document files for submission.

Winner will be notified in April.

Previous Winners

Photo of Christa Haney

Dr. Christa Haney


  • 2022 Winner
Photo of Christopher Little

Christopher Little

Classical & Modern Languages and Literatures

  • 2021 Winner
Athena Nagel Headshot Photo

Dr. Athena Owen Nagel


  • 2020 Winner
Sang Joon Lee Headshot Photo

Dr. Sang Joon Lee

Instructional Systems and Workforce Development

  • 2019 Winner